40 Melk and Wachau facts in 2026
By Melk Abbey Published Last updated
Official distances, admission fees and visit figures.
Compare all 14 Wachau walking stages
14 stages shown. Published times exclude your stops.
| Stage and route | Distance | Walking time | Ascent | Descent | Difficulty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stage 01Krems - Dürnstein | 12.40 km | 4 h 30 min | 354 m | 344 m | Moderate |
| Stage 02Dürnstein-Weißenkirchen | 16.38 km | 6 h 00 min | 491 m | 494 m | Moderate |
| Stage 03 · winterWeißenkirchen-Spitz | 10.53 km | 3 h 15 min | 353 m | 338 m | Not stated |
| Stage 04Spitz - Mühldorf | 10.95 km | 4 h 00 min | 463 m | 334 m | Moderate |
| Stage 05Mühldorf-Maria Laach (Jauerling-Wachau Nature Park) | 13.34 km | 5 h 30 min | 850 m | 612 m | Difficult |
| Stage 06Maria Laach-Aggsbach Markt (Jauerling-Wachau Nature Park) | 7.17 km | 1 h 55 min | 80 m | 462 m | Easy |
| Stage 07Aggsbach Markt-Emmersdorf (Jauerling-Wachau Nature Park) | 14.70 km | Not published | 547 m | 544 m | Moderate |
| Stage 08Emmersdorf-Melk | 10.05 km | 3 h 00 min | 177 m | 171 m | Moderate |
| Stage 09Melk-Aggsbach Dorf | 15.70 km | 6 h 00 min | 509 m | 513 m | Moderate |
| Stage 10Aggsbach Dorf-Hofarnsdorf | 17.04 km | 5 h 35 min | 777 m | 779 m | Moderate |
| Stage 11Hofarnsdorf-Rossatz | 16.81 km | 5 h 30 min | 697 m | 681 m | Moderate |
| Stage 12Rossatz-Unterbergern | 13.90 km | 4 h 00 min | 335 m | 263 m | Moderate |
| Stage 13Unterbergern-Mautern | 13.04 km | 5 h 00 min | 323 m | 424 m | Moderate |
| Stage 14Mautern-Krems | 3.91 km | 1 h 00 min | 26 m | 30 m | Easy |
Source: Donau Niederösterreich route records. Stage 03 uses the published winter variant; its difficulty is not stated.
Browse fees, wine visits and transport figures
Key takeaways
- Melk Abbey adult admission is €16 per person under the tariff valid from 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2027. (Melk Abbey, accessed October 2026)
- Kunstmeile Krems lists its adult SUPER.Combi ticket at €18 in 2026, for one visit to each included venue. (Kunstmeile Krems, accessed October 2026)
- The Wachau World Heritage Trail covers approximately 180 km on both banks of the Danube, according to the regional project record checked in October 2026. (Region Wachau-Dunkelsteinerwald, accessed October 2026)
- Wachau World Heritage Trail stage 14, Mautern to Krems, is 3.91 km in the tourism board's September 2026 route record, with a published walking time of 1 h 00 min and ascent of 26 m. (Donau Niederösterreich Tourismus, accessed October 2026)
- Domäne Wachau’s English estate tour lasts approximately 1.5 hours in its April-to-October programme accessed in October 2026. (Domäne Wachau, accessed October 2026)
- UNESCO records the Wachau Cultural Landscape’s inscribed property area as 18,462 ha in its listing accessed in October 2026. (UNESCO, accessed October 2026)
How much does a Melk Abbey visit cost?
Interior admission, the tour supplement and park-only admission cover different visits.
| Measure | Published figure |
|---|---|
| Adult interior admission | €16 |
| Guided-tour supplement | €4 extra |
| Park-only adult admission | €5.50 |
- Melk Abbey adult admission is €16 per person under the tariff valid from 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2027. (Melk Abbey, accessed October 2026)
- Melk Abbey charges a guided-tour supplement of €4 per person on top of admission in its April 2026 to March 2027 tariff. (Melk Abbey, accessed October 2026)
- Melk Abbey lists its guided visit at approximately 50 minutes in its visitor programme checked in October 2026. (Melk Abbey, accessed October 2026)
- Melk Abbey student admission is €8 for eligible visitors up to age 27 with student identification, under its April 2026 to March 2027 tariff. (Melk Abbey, accessed October 2026)
- Melk Abbey family admission is €32 for parents with their children up to age 16, under its April 2026 to March 2027 tariff. (Melk Abbey, accessed October 2026)
- Melk Abbey park-only adult admission is €5.50 under the tariff valid from 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2027; it does not include the interior visit. (Melk Abbey, accessed October 2026)
What does Göttweig Abbey charge?
These museum tickets include an audio guide; Göttweig is a separate visit near Krems.
| Measure | Published figure |
|---|---|
| Adult museum admission | €14 |
| Senior museum admission | €13 |
| Family museum admission | €25 |
- Göttweig Abbey museum adult admission, including an audio guide, is €14 in its 2026 tariff. (Göttweig Abbey, accessed October 2026)
- Göttweig Abbey museum senior admission, including an audio guide, is €13 in its 2026 tariff. (Göttweig Abbey, accessed October 2026)
- Göttweig Abbey museum family admission is €25 for parents with their children up to age 16 in its 2026 tariff. (Göttweig Abbey, accessed October 2026)
What do the Krems art museums cost?
Individual tickets and the combined ticket serve different visit plans.
| Measure | Published figure |
|---|---|
| One main museum, adult | €14 |
| SUPER.Combi, adult | €18 |
| One main museum, family | €24 |
- Kunstmeile Krems lists adult admission to each of Kunsthalle Krems, Landesgalerie Niederösterreich and Karikaturmuseum Krems at €14 in its 2026 tariff. (Kunstmeile Krems, accessed October 2026)
- Kunstmeile Krems lists its adult SUPER.Combi ticket at €18 in 2026, for one visit to each included venue. (Kunstmeile Krems, accessed October 2026)
- Kunstmeile Krems charges children and young people aged 7 to 18 €5 for an individual admission to its three main museums in its 2026 tariff. (Kunstmeile Krems, accessed October 2026)
- Kunstmeile Krems lists individual family admission to a main museum at €24 for two adults and up to four children or young people in its 2026 tariff. (Kunstmeile Krems, accessed October 2026)
- Kunstmeile Krems allows its SUPER.Combi admissions to be used within 1 year of purchase, on different days, according to its terms checked in October 2026. (Kunstmeile Krems, accessed October 2026)
How far are the Wachau walking stages?
The comparison covers all 14 numbered stages, with the published winter variant for stage 03.
| Measure | Published figure |
|---|---|
| Whole trail, approximate | 180 km |
| Whole trail | 14 stages |
| This comparison | All 14 numbered stages |
- The Wachau World Heritage Trail covers approximately 180 km on both banks of the Danube, according to the regional project record checked in October 2026. (Region Wachau-Dunkelsteinerwald, accessed October 2026)
- The Wachau World Heritage Trail is divided into 14 stages in the regional project record checked in October 2026. (Region Wachau-Dunkelsteinerwald, accessed October 2026)
- The Wachau World Heritage Trail project record reports approximately 8,000 vertical metres across the full trail, according to the regional project description; route variants can differ. (Region Wachau-Dunkelsteinerwald, accessed October 2026)
- Wachau World Heritage Trail stage 01, Krems to Dürnstein, is 12.40 km in the tourism board's October 2026 route record, with a published walking time of 4 h 30 min and ascent of 354 m. (Donau Niederösterreich Tourismus, accessed October 2026)
- Wachau World Heritage Trail stage 02, Dürnstein to Weißenkirchen, is 16.38 km in the tourism board's September 2026 route record, with a published walking time of 6 h 00 min and ascent of 491 m. (Donau Niederösterreich Tourismus, accessed October 2026)
- Wachau World Heritage Trail stage 03, Weißenkirchen to Spitz (winter route), is 10.53 km in the tourism board's winter-route record accessed in October 2026, with a published walking time of 3 h 15 min and ascent of 353 m. (Donau Niederösterreich Tourismus, accessed October 2026)
- Wachau World Heritage Trail stage 08, Emmersdorf to Melk, is 10.05 km in the tourism board's September 2026 route record, with a published walking time of 3 h 00 min and ascent of 177 m. (Donau Niederösterreich Tourismus, accessed October 2026)
- Wachau World Heritage Trail stage 09, Melk to Aggsbach Dorf, is 15.70 km in the tourism board's September 2026 route record, with a published walking time of 6 h 00 min and ascent of 509 m. (Donau Niederösterreich Tourismus, accessed October 2026)
- Wachau World Heritage Trail stage 14, Mautern to Krems, is 3.91 km in the tourism board's September 2026 route record, with a published walking time of 1 h 00 min and ascent of 26 m. (Donau Niederösterreich Tourismus, accessed October 2026)
What do wine labels and cellar tours tell you?
Alcohol thresholds describe wine styles; tour figures describe one named estate’s English visit.
| Measure | Published figure |
|---|---|
| Steinfeder | Up to 11.5% ABV |
| Federspiel | Up to 12.5% ABV |
| Smaragd | From 12.5% ABV |
- Vinea Wachau Steinfeder wines have a maximum alcohol content of 11.5% ABV under the association’s style rules accessed in October 2026. (Vinea Wachau, accessed October 2026)
- Vinea Wachau Federspiel wines have a maximum alcohol content of 12.5% ABV under the association’s style rules accessed in October 2026. (Vinea Wachau, accessed October 2026)
- Vinea Wachau Smaragd wines start at 12.5% ABV under the association’s style rules accessed in October 2026. (Vinea Wachau, accessed October 2026)
- Domäne Wachau lists its English estate tour and tasting at €32 per person in the programme accessed in October 2026. (Domäne Wachau, accessed October 2026)
- Domäne Wachau’s English estate tour lasts approximately 1.5 hours in its April-to-October programme accessed in October 2026. (Domäne Wachau, accessed October 2026)
- Domäne Wachau includes a tasting of 4 wines and local bread rolls in its English estate tour, according to the programme accessed in October 2026. (Domäne Wachau, accessed October 2026)
- Domäne Wachau lists individual group appointments for up to six people at €200 per group in its English tour information accessed in October 2026. (Domäne Wachau, accessed October 2026)
- Domäne Wachau permits free cancellation until 24 hours before its estate tour starts under the terms accessed in October 2026; later cancellations may incur the full charge. (Domäne Wachau, accessed October 2026)
How large is the UNESCO-listed Wachau?
The heritage property, buffer zone and local management area are different measures.
| Measure | Published figure |
|---|---|
| Inscribed property | 18,462 ha |
| Buffer zone, separate | 2,837 ha |
| Local management | 13 municipalities |
- UNESCO records the Wachau Cultural Landscape’s inscribed property area as 18,462 ha in its listing accessed in October 2026. (UNESCO, accessed October 2026)
- UNESCO records the Wachau Cultural Landscape’s buffer zone as 2,837 ha in its listing accessed in October 2026; this is separate from the inscribed property. (UNESCO, accessed October 2026)
- UNESCO’s Wachau management account identifies 13 municipalities as the local management level in the listing accessed in October 2026. (UNESCO, accessed October 2026)
How do river and rail journeys compare?
Published river itinerary examples show why direction matters. DDSG reports low-water changes in October 2026: check current operations before planning a connection.
Check DDSG’s low-water notice and available journeys. The examples below describe the published NÖ-CARD schedule, not confirmed departures today.
| Measure | Published figure |
|---|---|
| MS Dürnstein, upstream example | 10:15–13:20 |
| MS Dürnstein, downstream example | 13:50–15:30 |
| Wachaubahn, Krems–Emmersdorf | 34 km |
- DDSG’s NÖ-CARD schedule lists MS Dürnstein, Krems/Stein to Melk/Hafenspitz, at 10:15 to 13:20 as accessed in October 2026; operating dates and water conditions apply. (DDSG Blue Danube, accessed October 2026)
- DDSG’s NÖ-CARD schedule lists MS Dürnstein, Melk/Hafenspitz to Krems/Stein, at 13:50 to 15:30 as accessed in October 2026; operating dates and water conditions apply. (DDSG Blue Danube, accessed October 2026)
- DDSG’s NÖ-CARD schedule lists MS Wachau, Melk/Hafenspitz to Krems/Stein, at 11:00 to 12:50 as accessed in October 2026; operating dates and water conditions apply. (DDSG Blue Danube, accessed October 2026)
- DDSG’s NÖ-CARD schedule lists MS Wachau, Krems/Stein to Melk/Hafenspitz, at 13:10 to 16:05 as accessed in October 2026; operating dates and water conditions apply. (DDSG Blue Danube, accessed October 2026)
- Niederösterreich Bahnen reports 78,300 passengers on the Wachaubahn in 2025, in its operating figures accessed in October 2026; this does not establish a count of unique Wachau visitors. (Niederösterreich Bahnen, accessed October 2026)
- Niederösterreich Bahnen describes the Wachaubahn journey from Krems to Emmersdorf as 34 km in its operating overview accessed in October 2026; the railway ends across the river from Melk. (Niederösterreich Bahnen, accessed October 2026)
Methods and limitations
The 40 fact statements were selected from 45 candidate figures using first-publisher records. Fees describe different visits, not like-for-like ticket rankings; river times are published examples, not live departures.
The walking table covers all 14 numbered stages. Stage 03 uses the published winter variant; stage 07 has no published duration. Unknown times stay unknown and are excluded from time-limited filters. Distances, ascent and descent are the tourism board’s route measurements, not direct town transfers. Decimal commas become decimal points and hours become minutes for sorting. A lower ascent or an “Easy” label does not establish step-free access.
Source tags distinguish publication dates from access dates. The walking records were refreshed separately from the admission and transport figures. For a correction, contact Melk Abbey with the figure and its primary source.
Cite or reuse this reference
melkabbey.com compilation. “40 Melk Abbey and Wachau facts and figures.” Published 18 October 2026. https://melkabbey.com/wachau-valley/facts-and-figures/
Use the walking-stage CSV for the compilation. Attribute original measurements to the linked tourism-board records. For your visit, continue to the Wachau planning guide, Krems map or base comparison.
Primary sources
- Melk Abbey · accessed October 2026
- Göttweig Abbey · accessed October 2026
- Kunstmeile Krems · accessed October 2026
- Region Wachau-Dunkelsteinerwald · accessed October 2026
- Vinea Wachau · accessed October 2026
- Domäne Wachau · accessed October 2026
- UNESCO · accessed October 2026
- DDSG Blue Danube · accessed October 2026
- Niederösterreich Bahnen · accessed October 2026
- Donau Niederösterreich Tourismus · walking stage 01 · accessed October 2026
- Donau Niederösterreich Tourismus · walking stage 02 · accessed October 2026
- Donau Niederösterreich Tourismus · walking stage 03 · accessed October 2026
- Donau Niederösterreich Tourismus · walking stage 08 · accessed October 2026
- Donau Niederösterreich Tourismus · walking stage 09 · accessed October 2026
- Donau Niederösterreich Tourismus · walking stage 14 · accessed October 2026
- Donau Niederösterreich Tourismus · walking stage 04 · accessed October 2026
- Donau Niederösterreich Tourismus · walking stage 05 · accessed October 2026
- Donau Niederösterreich Tourismus · walking stage 06 · accessed October 2026
- Donau Niederösterreich Tourismus · walking stage 07 · accessed October 2026
- Donau Niederösterreich Tourismus · walking stage 10 · accessed October 2026
- Donau Niederösterreich Tourismus · walking stage 11 · accessed October 2026
- Donau Niederösterreich Tourismus · walking stage 12 · accessed October 2026
- Donau Niederösterreich Tourismus · walking stage 13 · accessed October 2026